How I got here and so forth

June 14, 2007

In early spring/late winter I was approached by the leader for our web team (I work for Dave Ramsey) and Tony asked if I would consider joining the web team (I was currently on the eBiz team) as the web analyst for the full company. I accepted and the following few months were mere segue to now. I believe there are two primary reasons I was specifically asked. 1) My degree is mathematics and 2) Tony likes the way I think. I’m sure there were others, but my speculation is those 2.

In just over 2 weeks I will transition fully into my new role when we go live. The last 5 weeks have been occupied with training (we’re implementing Site Catalyst now), planning, and implementation (boy am I glad I’m not a part of that very tedious procedure).

The last week(ish) has been occupied with reading Web Analytics, an Hour a Day by Avinash Kaushik (of Occam’s Razor fame), Actionable Web Analytics, Using Data to Make Smart Business Decisions by Jason Burby & Shane Atchison, and diving into what the blogosphere has to offer wa-wise. (guided initially by Mr. Kaushik’s recommendations)

I have learned very quickly that I have much to learn very quickly. My head hurts today, and I suspect it will for some time. Any tips are welcome. I’m looking forward to the adventure.

I hope someday for waswa to be a source of information and not just a plea for help and guidance. But for a while I’m sure this will be a place to help me think and process and probably quite a bit of regurgitating what I’m learning.

Leave a Reply

