Lessons in Segmenting

July 9, 2007

We have now been live with Site Catalyst for exactly 7 days (minus a few hours). We get enough traffic to actually have some data to look at, which is nice, but we aren’t fully implemented yet, which isn’t so nice. It actually leaves me in a slight state of limbo able to see something and come away with interesting observations, but I’m unable to segment much of the data yet as we are still implementing. And so much of my time is spent watching and think “wow, I wonder if that means anything.”

For my own edification a breif story in segmenting and so what. One of our web properties is a subscription site. In the past week visitors to the home page (which also doubles as the login page) have navigated away in under 15 sec at a rate of 37%. Gee that seems high.

So I dig a little further, where are people going? Well it turns out that 32% are actually logging in. It would be my guess that most of those are on that home page for under 15 sec, but here is where segmenting would be nice (does anyone know how to correlate time on page with next page in SC? I’m unable to figure it out yet). Potential, that <15sec crowd is made completely of members loggin in, but I really don’t know that yet. And if that’s the case, why are so many non-members (68% – and yes I know I can’t really say that, but for arguments sake) sticking around the home page but not signing up?

Man I’ve got bunches to learn yet.

Leave a Reply

